Skip to content

Haiku for…oh, I just can’t do it.

July 29, 2011

I am home after a commute back from Arlington that was four hours instead of the usual two because of a heinous accident on northbound I-95 involving an Office Depot truck which eventually closed all four lanes for about 30 minutes. Before I fell into bed tonight, I was going to dash off a pissy haiku about losing my grocery-shopping and car-vacuuming time this evening. I’d already composed it in my head while I was parked on the highway in my car, but it turns out I just couldn’t do it.

As I’ve mentioned before in these posts, there are not too many things that can make me cry spontaneously. One is nature films. Another is seeing the aftermath of car accidents: smashed front ends, glass confetti on the road, little cars crumpled like paper balls, brightly lit ambulances that I can look into from the open back end. The shock and the tears come on as spontaneously as nausea every time I see them.

I have been in accidents myself (thank god none as bad as the one I drove by tonight), I have ridden in ambulances, I know people whose bodies were permanently damaged in collisions, and I know a police officer who has responded to such accidents. I think of them all when I witness something like the Office Depot truck tonight. Its front end was folded up. There were boxes strewn on the highway, shoulder, and on the hillside next to the truck. Some were still falling out of the side of the truck when I went by like so much escaped stuffing. Earlier in the evening, from my vantage point a half mile away, I watched huge gray plumes of smoke billow up from the accident site. I don’t know where the driver was, but I assume he was in the ambulance or had already been taken away. I think of the Trauma team at the University of Maryland Medical Center that saved Marty’s life several times over, and I hope that the driver might have found his or her way into their hands if necessary.

It could have been me. It could have been someone I loved. These are humbling thoughts.

One Comment leave one →
  1. THeresa permalink
    August 3, 2011 12:31 pm

    Yup, I still have nightmares when I see a motorcycle accident, having lived through one myself.

Leave a Reply

