Skip to content

Ad fail

July 15, 2011

Big brother is definitely watching me. Or at least, he’s tracking my typing and site visits online in an attempt to get me to buy what I seem to be interested in. But he doesn’t always get it right—either that or I’m sending some very strange signals out into cyberspace.

I am referring to the “targeted” ads that appear in the side panels of my e-mail client dashboard. How strange that right after I make a purchase at J.Jill, J.Jill ads suddenly appear in that space. I recently bought Cathy a ceramic pie plate, and tons of housewares ads started appearing. I have no idea why the debt solutions ads come up every once in a while, because I have no needs in that area. Nor do I need fibromyalgia drugs or school loans. I try hard to ignore these things, but once in a while something so strange comes up I can’t. The latest example is from an ineptly named men’s sportswear company:

I guess all men are bonobos at heart?

I’m not sure why hip young guys would want to be associated with chimps, but that was the association that came up for me immediately:

The real deal, sans madras shorts and aviator sunglasses. Can you see the resemblance?

I tried to find out some more information about the company, and apparently their claim to fame is the fit of their pants, but I have no other details. Perhaps their pants are shorter than most, have ultra-articulated knees, and are friendly to bowleggedness. Then the name would make sense…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2011 7:07 am

    Perhaps the owners have contempt for their customers; they are jaded fashion executives snickering in some back room every time a guy places an order with them.

    • Darcy permalink*
      July 18, 2011 3:56 pm

      I like it!

      There must be a story. You don’t just pull “bonobos” out of your hat.

      • July 19, 2011 11:30 pm

        Hmmmm. I just had a terrible thought. If you rearrange the letters you get:

        no boobs

        So, men’s clothes only then?

        I say boo snob!

  2. Darcy permalink*
    July 20, 2011 7:22 am

    I believe Bonobos IS a menswear-only company…hmmm…

    Maybe they also sell Italian-cut shirts that fit close to the body, making them very unflattering on guys with man-boobs. Hence the subliminal message in the name…

Leave a Reply

